#bigmuscle in Gritty In Pink

#bigmuscle by Timo Rissanen, 2017, detail

Update May 21st, 2017: I received an email on Friday from curator Lisa Rockford informing me that the Bailey Contemporary Arts Center had decided to pull my work from the exhibition at the last minute, alongside the works of four other artists, Emily Blei Hracho, Heather Foster, Judy Polstra and Philip Lique. At the time of writing, video works by a number of artists are still under review and may also be pulled. I am disappointed at being eliminated to keep the exhibition “family-friendly”, however I do find satisfaction in my work eliciting a response – which to me is always better than the work being ignored. Although it’s safe to say that the exhibition will now be less gritty than what the curators had envisioned, I still ask you to support it, as there are many wonderful artists still included. Finally, I assure you that I will continue to create work without giving any consideration to my work being family-friendly, whatever the fuck that means.

#bigmuscle is an homage to men who flex on Instagram and a humorous comment on fleeting online crushes. It will be part of Gritty In Pink, opening at Bailey Contemporary Arts in Pompano Beach, FL, on June 10, curated by Megan Castellon and Lisa Rockford. More on Facebook.

Bailey Contemporary Arts, 41 NE 1st St, Pompano Beach, Florida 33060
Saturday June 10, 6-10pm

#bigmuscle by Timo Rissanen, 2017

Leave a Reply

